Role Models (no, not the movie…)

2012

How many role models do you have in your life?

This is a great question I asked myself earlier this week. Who are my role models (professional and personal) and why do I consider them role models?

I have a few people in my life I can turn to for advice about work, life, and everything in between. For career and general advice, I always turn to my mother. I know, I know: Everyone says that their mom is their #1 fan. But it’s true! She wants the best for me, and she always makes me look at both sides of a story, or the pros and cons of a situation before reacting. She has a ton of life experience, as well as career experience, and she always seems to give me new perspective about whatever the situation at hand is. She’s made career changes, learned valuable lessons, and most importantly, she backs me up in any decisions I make. Isn’t it nice to have a cheerleader on your side 24/7?

For professional advice, I often turn to my uncle, who lives on Long Island, and has a fantastic background in business and management. He knows business matters like the back of his hand, and when I find myself in a bind, I know I can always turn to him for professional advice. He has worked in the corporate business world, and he has also built up his professional career as an entrepreneur and consultant. It’s great to have someone with so much background in business who can help me with corporate/professional questions.

There have also been a few women in my life that have helped me make career decisions. I won’t name names, but some of these women are powerful, strong leaders. Other women are coworkers who have given me advice over the years, which is always helpful.

I know I will run into many insightful role models in the years to come–both professional and personal–and I’m thankful for everyone who has helped me become the person I am today.

And hey, maybe one day I’ll become someone ELSE’s role model!

Leave a Reply

